The Balkan Peninsula. Description

countries of the Balkan PeninsulaThe Balkan Peninsula is located in the southern part of theEurope. It is washed by the waters of the Aegean, Adriatic, Ionian, Black and Marmara seas. On the western shores there are many bays and bays, rocky and steep in their majority. In the east they are, as a rule, straight and low. The Balkan Peninsula includes medium and low mountains. Among them, Pind, Dinaric Highlands, Rhodopes, the Old Planina, the Serbian Highlands and others. The name of the peninsula in Europe is one.

On the outskirts is located the Lower Danube andThe Middle Danubian plain. The most important rivers are Morava, Maritsa, Sava, Danube. Among the reservoirs are the main lakes: Prespa, Ohrid, Skadar. The Balkan peninsula in the north and east is characterized by a temperate continental climate. For the territories in the south and in the west, the Mediterranean subtropical climate is characteristic.

the name of the peninsula in EuropeThe countries of the Balkan Peninsula substantiallydiffer in socio-political, climatic and other conditions. The southern territories are in most of Greece. It is bordered by Bulgaria, Yugoslavia, Turkey and Albania. In Greece, the climate is characterized as a subtropical Mediterranean, with hot and dry summers, wet, mild winters. In the mountainous and northern regions, the weather conditions are more severe, in winter the temperature is below zero.

The Balkan Peninsula in the south is occupied by Macedonia. It borders on Albania, Greece, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia. In Macedonia, the climate is mostly Mediterranean, with rainy winters and dry and hot summers.

The northeastern territories of the peninsula areBulgaria. Its northern part borders on Romania, the western part - with Macedonia and Serbia, the southern part - with Turkey and Greece. The territory of Bulgaria includes the longest mountain chain on the peninsula - the Old Planina. North of it and south of the Danube is the Danube plain. This fairly wide plateau rises above sea level by one hundred and fifty meters, it is dissected by a multitude of rivers that originate in the Old Planina and flow into the Danube. The Rhodopes confine the southeastern plain from the southwest. Most of the plain is located in the Maritsa River basin. These territories have always been famous for fertility.

Climatically Bulgaria is divided into three zones: steppe, Mediterranean and continental. This determines the diversity of the nature of this territory. For example, in Bulgaria there are more than three thousand species of plants, various species of which have disappeared from other European territories.

Balkan PeninsulaThe western part of the Balkan Peninsula is busyAlbania. The northern and north-western territories border with Montenegro and Serbia, the eastern - with Macedonia, and the southern and southeast - with Greece. The main part of Albania is distinguished by an elevated and mountainous terrain with deep and very fertile valleys. There are also several large lakes on the territory that stretch across the border areas with Greece, Macedonia, Yugoslavia.

The climate in Albania is Mediterranean subtropical. Summer here is dry and hot, and winter is wet and cool.

Related news

The Balkan Peninsula. Description The Balkan Peninsula. Description The Balkan Peninsula. Description The Balkan Peninsula. Description The Balkan Peninsula. Description The Balkan Peninsula. Description The Balkan Peninsula. Description The Balkan Peninsula. Description The Balkan Peninsula. Description The Balkan Peninsula. Description